Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones

Posted March 20, 2014 in Review / 9 Comments

Fourth Grave Beneath My FeetFourth Grave Beneath My Feet (Charley Davidson #4)
By Darynda Jones
Published October 30th, 2012
St. Martin’s Press
320 pages
Urban Fantasy
Source: Purchase



goodreads button amazon sale Barnes&noble sale



About the Book:

Sometimes being the grim reaper really is, well, grim. And since Charley’s last case went so awry, she has taken a couple of months off to wallow in the wonders of self-pity. But when a woman shows up on her doorstep convinced someone is trying to kill her, Charley has to force herself to rise above…or at least get dressed. It becomes clear something is amiss when everyone the woman knows swears she’s insane. But the more they refute the woman’s story, the more Charley believes it.


In the meantime, the sexy, sultry son of Satan, Reyes Farrow, is out of prison and out of Charley’s life, as per her wishes and several perfectly timed death threats. But his absence has put a serious crimp in her sex life. While there are other things to consider, like the fact that the city of Albuquerque has been taken hostage by an arsonist, Charley is having a difficult time staying away. Especially when it looks like Reyes may be involved.


After I was mentally put through the shredder during Third Grave Dead Ahead, I had no clue what to expect when I got back to Charley.  I’m not sure Charley knew what she was going to get back to or what she was going to do with herself.  She had a pretty tough ride last book around. And that’s exactly where book four in the Charley Davidson series picks up.

HUGE NOTE: If you haven’t read the previous books in this series, my review may be spoiler-ish – you’ve been warned!  This is a series you MUST read in order.

Charley is resting.  Or at least that’s what she’s calling it.  Her friends are calling it ‘wallowing’, ‘hiding’, and pretty much cutting herself off from the rest of the world.  Charley is afraid of what’s out there.  And this is all new territory for Charley, because she’s never been this afraid of anything in her life.  But when a woman comes to her for help, her friends won’t give up on her, and Reyes is out there doing who-knows-what, Charley finds herself scraping herself off her couch, stumbling down stairs, and out into the world.  Look out, world, Charley’s sort of back and she might just be back at it again.  

Once more, we have multiple mysteries arcing throughout the entire book.  Beside Charley’s story, the main mystery was one of the best mysteries Charley has had to solve to date.  And that’s saying something because Ms. Jones has crazy amounts of talent to create and write short yet complex mysteries that intersect Charley’s life.  Ms. Jones has been getting better and better as the series has gone on.  Don’t even get me started on Ms. Jones’ whacked out sense of humor – I can’t even think of anyone funnier than her!!

Who else could write funny nuns?  Really, it could only be Darynda Jones, right?!  Yes, they’re back.  So is Swopes (*sigh*), Cookie, Ubie, Gemma,  and (*oh, my*) Donovan with his motorcycle gang.  Since we’re fourth book into the series, all I can really say is that Ms. Jones has kept her characters consistent and true to their core personalities and traits.  The characters are all evolving but they aren’t making huge 180’s.  Even Garrett. 

See?  I warned you if you haven’t read the series you might be lost.  Just nod your head and tell me in the comments what color nail polish you plan to color your toe nails because I KNOW spring is coming.  I refuse to think otherwise!

Speaking of sucking toes (did I say that?), the only problem I had with this book versus all the other Charley books is Reyes.  My heart tumbled out of my chest when I read where he’s been sleeping while Charley is holed up in her apartment for two months.  YES, I’m well aware this book is a work of fiction.  There is no Charley and Reyes.  But WTH?!?! 

Temper tantrum over…

See what Ms. Jones does to me?  She’s that good of a writer.  And she’s got that wicked sense of humor that still has me guffawing out loud to my husband’s consternation.  Like everyone says, “Why aren’t you reading this series?” 

I say, “Don’t you want to know what the heck I’m talking about?” 😀


new divider 200

daryndabiopiclargeAbout the Author:

NYTimes and USA Today Bestselling Author Darynda Jones has won numerous awards for her work, including a prestigious Golden Heart®, a Rebecca, two Hold Medallions, a RITA ®, and a Daphne du Maurier, and she has received stellar reviews from dozens of publications including starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, and the Library Journal. As a born storyteller, Darynda grew up spinning tales of dashing damsels and heroes in distress for any unfortunate soul who happened by, annoying man and beast alike, and she is ever so grateful for the opportunity to carry on that tradition. She currently has two series with St. Martin’s Press: The Charley Davidson Series and the Darklight Trilogy. She lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of almost 30 years and two beautiful sons, the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads




Other books in the series:

Click on book covers to go to Goodreads page for that book 🙂







About Kristin

Kristin has to ensure she gets her minimal requirement of "happily ever after" books in between those books that contain cliffhangers and never-ending story arcs. It's for her family's sake. When not reading, she's homeshooling her 10-year old son, watching cartoons on TV, or taking a nap.

Tags: , ,


Subscribe via Email

Finally, FINALLY fixed! After days lost trying to fix... ;)

9 responses to “Review: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet by Darynda Jones