Review: No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

Posted March 30, 2016 in Review / 4 Comments

Review: No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

No One Knows

by J.T. Ellison
Published by Simon & Schuster, Gallery Books on March 22nd 2016
Genres: Mystery, Contemporary
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

AmazonBarnes&Noble Goodreads
One FlameOne Flame
One StarOne StarOne StarHalf a Star

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

Page-Turner

 

I’m a newbie to suspense and mysteries.  I’m just not drawn to them like romance and fantasy.  I read to relax, not get tied up in knots.  But I thought I’d give Ms. Ellison’s new mystery a shot.  Honestly, it was the cover that called to me; it’s a pretty good cover, I think 😉

It didn’t take me long to read this book, even at 360 pages.  With multiple POVs that go back and forth in time to weave the mystery together, I just couldn’t stop reading.  The most engaging character for me was Aubrey, of course, the main narrator.

The story starts out in current time.  We meet Aubrey as she receives a letter from her ex-mother-law stating that the state of Tennessee has issued a death certificate for Aubrey’s missing husband, Josh.  As Aubrey’s crappy day unfolds, we meet the characters in her life that supported her through the trauma of her husband going missing.  We also follow her on her daily routine and get a glimpse of how far she’s come since she “lost” her husband.

As I said before, the mystery of Josh’s disappearance is divulged by multiple characters in multiple time frames but they are short, brief chapters.  So while Aubrey may be thinking of Josh while she’s out running, the next instance you’re transported back in time to when Aubrey and Josh were kids growing up.  I personally enjoyed the story being told this way.  I thought it worked great and Ms. Ellison did a fine job keeping everything consistent.

Even chapters narrator by Daisy, the evil mother-in-law, or by Josh himself fit nicely into the story and had me looking this way and that way trying to figure out what direction the story was going to go.  I thought I had it figured out several times but it wasn’t until almost the last chapter that I had the rug pulled out from under me.  Everything tied off with a bow in the last sentence and I was pretty satisfied with the trip I took.

For me personally, the story was a bit on the “wordy” side (“It’s a story, of course it has words!”) with characters that liked to think to themselves a wee bit too much for my taste.  But other than that, a pretty solid mystery!

I recommend this for someone wanting to read suspense/mystery for the first time, to dip their toes in the proverbial pond, if you will.

About J.T. Ellison

New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison writes dark psychological thrillers starring Nashville Homicide Lt. Taylor Jackson and medical examiner Dr. Samantha Owens, and pens the Nicholas Drummond series with #1 New York Times bestselling author Catherine Coulter. Cohost of the premier literary television show, A Word on Words , Ellison lives in Nashville with her husband and twin kittens.

 

Kristin

About Kristin

Kristin has to ensure she gets her minimal requirement of "happily ever after" books in between those books that contain cliffhangers and never-ending story arcs. It's for her family's sake. When not reading, she's homeshooling her 10-year old son, watching cartoons on TV, or taking a nap.

Tags: , ,

Divider

Subscribe via Email

Get my posts delivered right to your mailbox!

4 responses to “Review: No One Knows by J.T. Ellison

  1. I really like suspenseful stories. I think most UF stories have some of this mixed into them. I haven’t read many straight up suspense stories, but I want to read more. I keep saying that I’m going to try a cozy mystery. I keep hearing great things about them. I just can’t seem to get myself to step away from the PNR/UF/Fantasy genres that I love so much. I know I will one day.
    Melanie Simmons recently posted…Against the Dark Audiobook by Carolyn Crane (REVIEW)

    • I know what you mean!! UF usually fulfills the suspense need for me, too! I literally almost broke a tooth grinding my teeth while reading this!!! My jaw made the most horrible sound when it scraped I about passed out from the noise! I may have to stick to UF for my suspense and mystery fix from now on 😉