Icon Tag: Bad Boy

Review: What Light by Jay Asher

Posted November 17, 2016 in Review / 10 Comments
Review: What Light by Jay Asher

What Light by Jay Asher came out on October 18th but I really wanted to wait a bit to put my review out because this is such a great story to help you get in the mood for Christmas! It’s about Christmas trees! Lots and lots of Christmas trees!!

Review: Four Letter Word by J. Daniels

Posted October 18, 2016 in Review / 10 Comments
Review: Four Letter Word by J. Daniels

Why, oh why did I look at my friend’s reviews of this one? What was I thinking?? I’ve just put pressure on myself to explain my love of this story. I’ve got to list my reasons and have them make sense. This is such a daunting task for me because it’s rare for me to make much sense. Just ask my husband.

Review: Dare to Stay by Jen McLaughlin

Posted August 2, 2016 in Review / 7 Comments
Review: Dare to Stay by Jen McLaughlin

I just read and reviewed Sophie Jordan’s Hell Breaks Loose the other day and I can’t help but notice that I have another book on my hands here with a bad boy and his love interest in an impossible happily ever after situation. But Jen McLaughlin’s Dare to Stay is different in that Chris, our bad boy, really eff’d up. He IS a bad boy who is possibly on his way to redemption.

Review: Ride Hard by Laura Kaye

Posted May 5, 2016 in Review / 7 Comments
Review: Ride Hard by Laura Kaye

Laura Kaye has ended her Hard Ink series but it is living on, in part, in her new Raven Riders series. And even if you haven’t read any of the Hard Ink books, you will have no problem “fitting in” with this bike club.

Review: Forgetting August by J.L. Berg

Posted March 2, 2016 in Review / 15 Comments
Review: Forgetting August by J.L. Berg

I just couldn’t ignore this story. Oh, I tried. I saw the beautiful cover, read the synopsis, and thought, “Score!” But then I skimmed reviews and saw the dreaded cliffhanger and ‘story continued in book two’ dribble. I hung my head and walked away.

Review: Dare to Run by Jen McLaughlin

Posted February 1, 2016 in Review / 8 Comments
Review: Dare to Run by Jen McLaughlin

Dare to Run felt dark, gritty, and so real to me. I flipped through its pages fast and could not make myself put the book down for a second. I seriously lost hours engrossed in this suspenseful romance between a self-confessed bad guy and a girl who grew up on the streets and was given a chance on a good life.

Review: Forgotten Promises by Jessica Lemmon

Posted January 15, 2016 in Review / 1 Comment
Review: Forgotten Promises by Jessica Lemmon

According to Ms. Lemmon’s “Acknowledgements” page at the end of Forgotten Promises, she was asked for a story with an “anti-hero”. I have to say she nailed the anti-hero perfectly when she created the character of Tucker Noscalo. His story and how he changed Morgan Young was not at all what I expected and by the end, it was so much more.

Review: Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling

Posted January 8, 2016 in Review / 4 Comments
Review: Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling

I love a good young adult romantic romp. They are great for cleansing the brain after dramatic, stress filled reads or for reading on cold, rainy days. These simple, sunshine-filled books are not meant to be serious. I only ask that they have a decent story and be well written. This book accomplished one of these requirements and kind of sort of missed on the other. Let me explain…

Review: Fighting for Devlin by Jessica Lemmon

Posted November 10, 2015 in Review / 3 Comments
Review: Fighting for Devlin by Jessica Lemmon

Jessica Lemmon is an author I have been trying to make time to read ever since I saw all the great reviews for her Second Chance series. She lives in Ohio so of course she’s awesome… and probably an awesome writer, too 😉 So when I saw my two favorite bloggers grab the first book in her new Lost Boys series, Fighting for Devlin, I knew what my next step was… copy what they did and request the book.

Review: Embraced by Jus Accardo

Posted November 9, 2015 in Review / 4 Comments
Review: Embraced by Jus Accardo

Jus Accardo is finally back with the second book in her Eternal Balance series. To say I jumped all over this as soon as I saw this available to read and review would be an understatement. This is a story that has actually stuck with me after two years!

Review: All Broke Down by Cora Carmack

Posted October 23, 2015 in Review / 1 Comment
Review: All Broke Down by Cora Carmack

It’s Fall and that means FOOTBALL around my parts! I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my lazy afternoon with my sick son than re-reading All Broke Down by Cora Carmack and dreaming of Ohio State Football Saturdays of past.