Icon Tag: Romance

Review: Keepsake (and Bittersweet) by Sarina Bowen

Posted October 25, 2016 in Review / 8 Comments
Review: Keepsake (and Bittersweet) by Sarina Bowen

I bought and read the first book in Sarina Bowen’s True North series, Bittersweet, back in early July 2016 just after it came out. Unfortunately, I never got around to doing a full review on it but I really loved the escape to a dairy farm and orchard up in Vermont. I missed her second book, Steadfast, but out TODAY is Keepsake, the third book.

Review: Homecoming by Stacey Shannon

Posted August 30, 2016 in Review / 8 Comments
Review: Homecoming by Stacey Shannon

It’s getting so very close to that time of the year when you snuggle up on bleacher seats under the lights on Friday nights, or you tailgate Saturday mornings, or you waste away a Sunday on your couch in front of the TV. Need to get the mood going early with a side of romance?

Review: 738 Days by Stacey Kade

Posted June 15, 2016 in Review / 3 Comments
Review: 738 Days by Stacey Kade

I don’t think I’ve read a story plot this deep or thought provoking as this one in a long, long time. My brain muscles are still un-cramping from all the thinking and flat out speed reading I’ve done in the last two days. This is just one of those stories that doesn’t have a good place to stop, regroup, and circle your thoughts back around.

Review: Ride Hard by Laura Kaye

Posted May 5, 2016 in Review / 7 Comments
Review: Ride Hard by Laura Kaye

Laura Kaye has ended her Hard Ink series but it is living on, in part, in her new Raven Riders series. And even if you haven’t read any of the Hard Ink books, you will have no problem “fitting in” with this bike club.

Review: Listen to Me by Kristen Proby

Posted April 12, 2016 in Review / 6 Comments
Review: Listen to Me by Kristen Proby

Kristen Proby is back with a new series surrounding five best friends who open a trendy restaurant in Portland, Oregon. It’s actually a brilliant idea, especially if you love “girlfriend” stories. Enter at your own “grammar” risk…

Review: The Do-Over by L.E. Bross

Posted March 25, 2016 in Review / 5 Comments
Review: The Do-Over by L.E. Bross

Are you looking for a well written “classic” small town romance? In the mood for classic romance tropes like opposites attract, secrets from the past coming to light, or just plain ‘ole starting over? Well, this story has them all and believe it or not, Ms. Bross made them all work together wonderfully.

Review: The Hurricane by R.J. Prescott

Posted March 23, 2016 in Reading Challenge, Review / 3 Comments
Review: The Hurricane by R.J. Prescott

I grabbed The Hurricane by R.J. Prescott because I’m always up for a “new to me” author and I saw the good reviews for this book. The story of a gym-rat boxer turned up-and-coming amateur boxer who falls for a reserved, shy girl running from a horrific past absolutely melted my heart. This is a story that is not easy to put down for too long.

Review: Remembering Everly by J.L. Berg

Posted March 18, 2016 in Review / 3 Comments
Review: Remembering Everly by J.L. Berg

It’s easy for me to sit here and write book reviews. I read a book, I take notes, I write what I think and feel. It’s not rocket science. When I have to write a negative review, though, I cringe… and hope no one starts stalking me.

Review: Forgetting August by J.L. Berg

Posted March 2, 2016 in Review / 15 Comments
Review: Forgetting August by J.L. Berg

I just couldn’t ignore this story. Oh, I tried. I saw the beautiful cover, read the synopsis, and thought, “Score!” But then I skimmed reviews and saw the dreaded cliffhanger and ‘story continued in book two’ dribble. I hung my head and walked away.

Review: Stone Cold Cowboy by Jennifer Ryan

Posted February 18, 2016 in Review / 3 Comments
Review: Stone Cold Cowboy by Jennifer Ryan

Brutal beginning, Ms. Ryan! I remember sitting in some session, some where, and the speaker noted that an author needs to hook a reader in the first chapter or the book has the potential to fail. On that point alone, Ms. Ryan ran away with the Stanley Cup, the Heisman, and the Super Bowl trophy in one fell swoop!

Review: Dare to Run by Jen McLaughlin

Posted February 1, 2016 in Review / 8 Comments
Review: Dare to Run by Jen McLaughlin

Dare to Run felt dark, gritty, and so real to me. I flipped through its pages fast and could not make myself put the book down for a second. I seriously lost hours engrossed in this suspenseful romance between a self-confessed bad guy and a girl who grew up on the streets and was given a chance on a good life.

Review: Captured by Jennifer Chance

Posted January 22, 2016 in Review / 5 Comments
Review: Captured by Jennifer Chance

The first book in Jennifer Chance’s Gowns & Crowns series was all about the Prince finding his Princess and all that fairytale romance mushy stuff, with a bit of intrigue added in. Well holy smokes did Ms. Chance ramp up the intrigue. She added in a whole lot of suspense to this second book in the series. It was almost as if Intrigue walked up to Romance and asked it to dance.